The Mission Field

My last few days in the MTC were incredible. My district sang “God Be With You Til We Meet Again” at our final sacrament meeting, and I got to sing a solo. I also gave a talk on how important the Holy Ghost is in conversion. I loved speaking. It was a great Sunday. President Uchtdorf showed up to our departing devotional. We were so close to him and it felt awesome to feel the spirit of an Apostle fill the room. He wished us luck on our missions and expressed his love for missionary work. He told us to never give up. He had so much power and authority in his voice. I loved it.

Saying goodbye to the incredible friends that I made at the MTC was really hard, but I know that we are all moving on to bigger and better things. When I arrived in Billings, it was cold, overcast, and windy. I loved my Mission President and his wife from the moment that I met them. They provided delicious meals and a nice warm bed that night at the mission home. I was transferred the next morning to Helena. It’s the capital and is a beautiful little city. My new companion is awesome. She and I get along very well. We live in a basement of a ward member’s home. It’s a beautiful house in the mountains overlooking the city of Helena. The view is gorgeous. We’re blessed to have a nice place to live. I’ve been able to teach several lessons since arriving in Montana. I’ve loved seeing the light grow in my investigator’s eyes as they begin to understand fospel principles. I’ve gotten sing every single day since being on my mission and it has been a blessing. We went to visit some sick people at a care center and I sang hymns to them. I loved seeing them light up as they felt the Spirit. I’ve struggled a lot with home sickness since being in the mission field, but I know that I’m where I’m supposed to be. The Lord will help me as I put my trust in Him. Keep praying for me and I hope that you are all doing well.

Love Always,

Sister Howes

Leave a Reply

