To All You Future Missionaries

To all my returned missionary friends, you failed to mention just how difficult a mission really is. Emotionally, spiritually, and physically. It is a lot more difficult than I had anticipated. It’s a test for sure. A test to see how much you really love the Lord and what you’re willing to do to help God’s children. To anybody reading this who may be preparing for a mission, know that it will be difficult. Probably one of the most difficult things you will ever do. There will be times when you’ll want to give up. But helping people draw closer to Christ truly makes the sacrifice all worth while. I got to invite two people to be baptized this week. They said yes and we set a date for next month. I can’t even begin to explain the joy I feel in knowing that I am helping them make the first step to return to their Heavenly Father. Seein the light grow in my investigator’s eyes as they begin to follow the Savior is unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. D&C 18:16 says “And now, if your joy will be great with one soul that you have brought unto me into the kingdom of my Father, how great will be your joy if you should bring many souls unto me!”

In other news, I’ve gotten to sing, play the guitar, and share messages through music every day. I was even asked by the Stake President’s wife to write a song for this years Girls Camp. I never thought I’d get to use music this much on my mission. I wrote a new song the other day about faith. I’m gunna start sharing it with my investigators. It’s been a blessing to use my talents! I feel like music can touch the hearts of people in a way that words can’t. I had been praying to use my musical talents on my mission. Just like Alma in Mosiah 23:10, “The Lord did hear my cries and did answer my prayers, and has made me an instrument in His hands in bringing so many to a knowledge of His truth.”

Leave a Reply

